Protecting, Promoting and Preserving General Aviation in RI

The Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award–is named in honor of Orville and Wilbur Wright who were two American aviation pioneers credited with inventing, building, and flying the world's first successful motor-operated airplane. The Wright Brothers made the first controlled, sustained flight of a powered, heavier-than-air aircraft with the Wright Flyer on December 17, 1903 at Kitty Hawk, North Carolina. The brothers were also the first to invent aircraft controls that made fixed-wing powered flight possible.Eligibility

To be eligible for the Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award, nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Hold a U.S. Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) or Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) pilot certificate.
  • Have 50 or more years of civil and military piloting experience or 50 or more years combined experience in both piloting and aircraft operations.

    • Up to 20 years of the required 50 years may be U.S. military experience.
    • The effective start date for the 50 years is the date of the nominee’s first solo flight or military equivalent.
    • The 50 years may be computed consecutively or non-consecutively.

  • Be a U.S. citizen.
  • Have NOT had any airman certificate revoked.

    Note: Revocation of any airman certificate will disqualify a nominee for this award.

To Apply

Follow application procedures located in the current Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award Information Guide. (PDF)

Contact your local FSDO for more information.

If you have additional questions, or if you are a Master Pilot Award recipient and your name is not on this list please contact your local FAASTeam Program Manager.

Below is a current list of Wright Brothers Master Pilot Awardees from Rhode Island, taken from the FAA website:

Full Name Location Date Received
Eugene A.  Bielecki  Smithfield, RI 06/2005
Norman Judson Bishop  Warwick, RI 06/2005
Kenneth A. Brown  Pawtucket, RI 06/2005
James Joseph Burns East Greenwich, RI 08/2022
Lowell Mason Cornell Jr. Pawtucket, RI 06/2005
Robert George Danis  East Greenwich, RI 06/2005
Domenic S. DeNardo  Cranston, RI 12/2010
Henri Willi Gautschi Greenville, RI 06/2022
Daniel J. Hogberg  Cranston, RI 06/2006
Kenneth George Johnson  West Warwick, RI 10/2019
Joseph Sabatino Ludovici  Saunderstown, RI 06/2005
Thomas James Magnan Warwick, RI 08/2022
Murray Wendell Obear  Portsmouth, RI 02/2009
Donald M. Pillsbury Jr. East Greenwich, RI 06/2006
Lowell Gable Powers Jr. Middletown, RI 11/2019
Anthony J. Rappa  Warwick, RI 06/2006
Harold J. Rocketto  Westerly, RI 02/2021
Marcos Boris Rotman  Jamestown, RI 06/2009
Frank Foster Sherman  Lincoln, RI in 06/2005
Justin Strauss  Cranston, RI 06/2006
James G. Taglione  Providence, RI 06/2006
Anthony Louis Vessella West Warwick, RI 04/2010
FAA Wright Brothers Master Pilot Awards (as of Dec 2022)